NaNoWriMo Novel Progress

With only nine days to go and another 13,168 words left to write, I realized just how far I have yet to go on this novel. I will make my winning word count by November 30th, but I don’t think I will have completed the entire draft of the novel.

Novel progress scriv cork board

After trying to figure out what scene to write next, I decided to try the Cork board feature of Scrivener. I arranged all of my scenes into chapters, and thanks to Scrivener, I realize how much I have yet to write! Chapters that are complete have been marked with First Draft, and the ones marked To Do have not yet been started. Some of the chapters marked started are nearly complete, while others contain only a few hundred words.

This feature of Scrivener has really helped me visualize where I need to go, and how to get there, however, I am a little disappointed to find out that my novel is not even half way finished even though I have written over 36,000 words.

It looks like I will still be doing a lot of writing in December. Thanks to NaNoWriMo, I know that I can finish it, and this push to win has taught me that I really am capable of getting more than a few hundred words down in one session of writing. Now I just need to discipline myself to focus at least 5 days a week on writing.

Next year I will begin the rewrite and edit phase of this novel and will hopefully have a manuscript to publish by next November. Fingers and toes crossed! But for now, I just need to get this baby written!

Happy Writing friends!

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Novel Progress

    1. I’d love to! I will check it out first thing tomorrow. I just finished my last session for the night and am exhausted. I hated to stop where I’m at because i’m only 720 words shy of the 40K, but anything I write at t his point will be rubbish.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

